Getting the word out

I (as of now almost) have an app.  I think it is the first EFT app for iPhone, iPad and touch iPod.  And I am just so delighted to think of people travelling on trains and buses, sitting at home in front of the television or over breakfast or finding a way to kill a little waiting time – maybe hanging on forever in a helpline queue  – people I have never met and mostly never will starting to get to know about EFT from it.

Getting the EFT word out there in every way I can has long been my passion. I love doing workshops both for people who want to use it in therapy and people who just want to use it for themselves.  I have put videos on YouTube to help people get started.  I have written a free How to Get Started eBook.   I have put that and lots of other resources on my website.  I have presented to conferences on EFT and its uses in the UK, the US,  Switzerland, Australia.  And now I have made an app and made it free hoping it will spread the word even more widely.

You may be reading this blog on my app.  If you are it is no longer in the Apple review queue.  If you are not but would like to be able to, you can get it from iTunes or via the link on the home page of my website. It is for iPhone, iPad and touch IPod.  (If you have it, I would love feedback on it.  Suggestions will help shape the first upgrade. )

EFT seems a natural for an app.  It is so much a therapy tool of the 21st century that apping tapping  was the obvious next step.  Right from the start  EFT was of its time – a paradox for a therapy that can trace its roots back  with reliable carbon-dated evidence  5,500 years.  That’s how long ago we know people had the idea of points on meridians being relevant to what they were suffering and using pressure or bamboo splinters and later needles on those points.

Yet EFT – or Emotional Freedom Techniques –  would never have taken off at the speed that it did without the Internet.  Gary Craig had the inspired idea and a passion for spreading it.  He trained in TFT – Thought Field Therapy – and almost immediately began to devise and then circulate EFT,  his own somewhat simpler take on it.  EFT feels to me more client-centred and self-help-friendly.   The procedure doesn’t get in the way of the two-way therapist-client bond that is so vital to successful therapy.  It also empowers clients to take it off as a tool to use for themselves outside the therapy room and after therapy ends.

What Gary had going for him was that he was not only therapeutically creative but a good marketer and that meant  he was Internet savvy.  No one who was not could have built up a newsletter circulation list of more than half a million in less than 20 years.  EFT is huge and still growing.

I confess to having taken more than a little persuading when I first came across EFT.  I could see it worked.   But I did not really get why tapping on points on the energy system should have such a profound effect.  And then, when I pondered what proof we have that we have energy systems, the penny finally dropped. We do not have energy systems.  We are energy systems. Einstein said a long time ago now that everything was energy.   It took humans a while to realise that that meant us, too.

About Judy Byrne EFT Founding Master

I draw on my 30 plus years' experience as a therapist to help clients achieve the change they want in their lives. I use EFT, an amazing technique involving tapping on points on the meridians, that is brilliant in therapy and as a self-help tool. And I teach EFT both to people who want to learn it to use for themselves and to those who want to take EFT into their therapy practices. I also have qualifiations in psychotherapy, hypnosis, EMDR and Mindfulness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting the word out

  1. Adrienne Elliott says:

    Thanks for your candid honesty. I appreciate it. I don’t have a website. I’m not a counselor. I did reflexology for 13 years. I would like to get so good at EFT to have clients and help them. I’m quite intuitive.

    Take good care.
    Adrienne

Leave a Reply

