THE EFT PARADOX

EFT is a paradox.

On one hand, it is a technique so easy-to-learn that everyone can use it to deal with stress, anxiety, unwanted emotions.  Its  developer Gary Craig gave it freely to the world.  I, too, have an obsession with telling as many people as will listen how they can use it for themselves.  I scarcely dare say this but I think my app for iPhone and touch iPod is now working as it was meant to.   Not only de-glitched but revised.   So if you tried to download it and failed, do try again.  If you did download you might want to update. It is free. (http://tinyurl.com/4mhey68). Unfortunately for the moment it is not being offered for iPad.  That is a whole other story.   Hang on while I go away and tap about that …

The other face of EFT is a powerful, subtle transformative  tool which skilled and experienced therapists can use in their work so it becomes, for clients, less painful, faster, more thorough, more relevant to their lives outside the therapy room and more lasting than therapy might otherwise be.

It is because we know so well that it is a continuing journey that the EFT Founding Masters have an annual Masterclass in the UK at which we share learnings from our journeys.  Each Masterclass been different in character and flavour.  And the sixth – in York on October 22 and 23 – (www.eftevents.com) will be no exception.  This one will have seven  of us presenting to the whole group.  No difficult choices between options for people who attend.

Unfortunately, there are difficult choices for presenters.  For me it is an annual dilemma.  Every year there seems to be so much exciting new stuff  from my reading and thinking and studying other therapists’ ideas and – and this is the biggie –  learning from teaching others and working with clients – that I never quite know how to encapsulate it into a presentation with a theme, a focus, a time-limit and a good chance that it will be useful to many other EFTers.

EFT for dealing with trauma is one of my passions.  I did a presentation and a workshop on working with trauma with EFT at the Manchester Masterclass in 2009* It was about having a therapy framework for trauma, not just thinking we can tap it away.  I think trauma – “everyday trauma “ as well as the big stuff – underlies so much that brings people into therapy.  Fortunately it is also one of the things EFT does best

But I think we are, to quote Gary Craig, on the ground floor of the healing high rise. And that some of what will take us up to the next one is not how we tap but how we are when we tap.  This means going beyond the personal peace plan/personal therapy to clear as many of our own issues as we can before we work with others.  This is about peeling away another layer of the onion and learning much more about who we are and how to be how we would like to be in therapy sessions.   And what’s sauce for the therapist is sauce for the client as well.  It is about teaching clients more than how to do a round of tapping.   This is why I have been looking at Mindfulness, both for me and for how it fits with working with trauma clients.

I also think we have an obligation to keep up with discoveries that may be relevant to what we do.  I think new understandings in neuroscience also have a lot to offer us in the way we approach doing therapy.  This is not about how we tap but how we make informed decisions about what to tap on.

So I have two different strands to my thinking about how to move my own trauma work to the next  level – and maybe how to shape my Masterclass presentation.  One bolt-on is Mindfulness.   The  other is neuroscience, or an understanding of developments in neuroscience and their implications for us.  How does each deepen our understanding both of ourselves and of how EFT can be most relevant and most effective?

The next stage for me, is to decide whether to talk about one or both and if one only, which one.

Please feel free to tell me what you think.

*  I have a DVD of the Manchester presentation and accompanying resources handout available to buy.  I have also made DVDs on dealing with all levels of negative memories.   You can find them on http://www.judybyrne.co.uk

About Judy Byrne EFT Founding Master

I draw on my 30 plus years' experience as a therapist to help clients achieve the change they want in their lives. I use EFT, an amazing technique involving tapping on points on the meridians, that is brilliant in therapy and as a self-help tool. And I teach EFT both to people who want to learn it to use for themselves and to those who want to take EFT into their therapy practices. I also have qualifiations in psychotherapy, hypnosis, EMDR and Mindfulness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

