THANK YOU, THANK YOU, EFT

This is a blog about a blog.  It is also a blog about one of the things that has most moved me in my  working life.   It is a blog that began in my head under the shower this morning after reading an email which said:  “Your tapping on the Inner  four- year- old child is amazing.  The whole world needs this.  It has lifted a great burden from my shoulders and given me peace.  Thank you, thank you, thank you.”

People have said “thank you” before.  But somehow this from someone I have never met, who found a recording I made a long time ago on a website and took the trouble to find my contact details to tell me that it had made such a difference in her life kept resonating in my head. And it set me thinking about a lot of aspects of our EFT work in a different way.

The facts: The recording was part of the World Tapping Summit 2010.  There had been feedback when it went out.  But I was mystified at first when I started getting a lot of emails about it again a couple of weeks ago.  I got curious and did some detecting and found that Nick Ortner (who with his sister Jessica has created the world tapping summits) had posted it on his blog*.  Under it were a string of comments.

They included: “This presentation has really made a difference in my life… This tapping and information gave me the tools to change my way of thinking and I feel very happy.” And “What a great release of sad and hurtful memories happened very quickly.”    There were many more.  And the email I quoted above was not the only one I had from complete strangers not asking for anything.  Just taking time and trouble to say: “Thank you.”

It really is humbling to discover that something you have done has had such an impact on people you do not know and never will in countries you will probably never visit.  It reminded me why I think doing therapy is the best job and the greatest privilege in the world.  It also reminded me why this is such a great time is to be working in it.

A lot about the virtual reality of 21st century life is, I believe,  pretty psychologically damaging.  Instant everything is changing how we function in our relationships, and in our own inner lives.  Usually it is not changes for the better.  But this, it now seems to me, is the upside.  To be able to have an idea about what might be useful for people, to record it, to have it out there – in no previous age could it have got so far so fast and been able to be helpful to so many.  That is true for so many of us who work in ways beyond the limitations of  traditional therapy-in-the-room.

I have always felt the phenomenal spread of EFT – Gary Craig’s newsletter attracted half a million subscribers in less than 20 years – could only have happened in an age of instant Internet.  It  is a therapy tool for and of its time.  Paradoxically so, since it is based on such ancient foundations.  The idea of meridians goes back 6,000 years.

I am just so glad that I got past the this-is-too-whacky-for -serious-therapy barrier.   And that so many others have done and are doing so, too. But then we were lucky.  When we felt skeptical about it or silly doing it or scared that our colleagues would think we had lost the plot or afraid that our clients would think we were too lightweight to be credible, we could tap and move on.

Thank heaven for EFT.

*You can find the recording it via http://tinyurl.com/4yksgxl

About Judy Byrne EFT Founding Master

I draw on my 30 plus years' experience as a therapist to help clients achieve the change they want in their lives. I use EFT, an amazing technique involving tapping on points on the meridians, that is brilliant in therapy and as a self-help tool. And I teach EFT both to people who want to learn it to use for themselves and to those who want to take EFT into their therapy practices. I also have qualifiations in psychotherapy, hypnosis, EMDR and Mindfulness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THANK YOU, THANK YOU, EFT

  1. Roma says:

    Dear Judy, is it possible that you can make that interview with tapping on a four year old child available for downloading..? I is such a great tool! Worth repeating many times.

    Roma

    • Roma
      I wish I could but it is not mine to do that with, I am afraid. It “belongs” to The Tapping Solution. But now that it is on Nick’s blog it will stay there. It will just go further and further down the page.

  2. Roma says:

    Oh, I see. I have already contacted Nick and found out that the only way to have it is to buy the 2010 tapping World Summit But Thank You anyway! It was a great tapping session that helped me a lot. I am still using it and continuously new things pops up in my awareness. It is incrdible to watch all this and being released form old programming. Priceless gift to us all. With deepest gratitude, 🙂

    Roma

Leave a Reply

