This time they’ll find me out

I see a lot of clients who would rather have their fingernails removed one at a time than make a presentation but who perceive that all possible promotion is being removed from their futures by the fact that they cannot. Their current job may even be under threat.

I have always thought (and taught) that it is a cardinal mistake for a therapist to think: “I know what that feels like. That has happened to me.”  Something similar may have happened to us but we never have any idea how it feels for someone else and the only possible  insight, such as it is,  comes from really listening to the clients, not from using ourselves for reference.

So the fact that I like presenting doesn’t make me feel disqualified from working with people for whom it is an ordeal.  But if I want to tap into my empathy,  I have only to think of my  own dysfunctional relationship with my DVDs and recordings.

I found myself a little while ago accidentally watching again the first EFT DVD I made.  It was filmed at my presentation at the first-ever EFT Masterclass in London in 2006. I had mixed feelings about it when I saw it again.  (Could have been better/better than I thought.) And  I was surprised how relaxed I was in front of the camera.  It didn’t throw me even when  a bit of microphone went down my trousers.   It was probably the day I discovered I am actually a ham.

But I hate watching or listening to myself afterwards .  When I originally got that first DVD,  I tapped and tapped and put it off and tapped some more.  It was weeks before I watched it.  I am still a work in progress on this.  I still dread seeing or hearing myself . It took me an age to look at my three DVDs on using EFT in Therapy and Healing the Past with EFT, even though I had had a ball making them with a great bunch of EFTers at Studley Castle in Warwickshire.  More tapping.  And still more when I got the DVD of Working with Trauma from my presentation at the 2009 EFT Masterclass.

Which is why I was anticipating the recent Innovations special weekend of free audios on the EFT Hub with mixed feelings.   I was really looking forward to listening to the other six Masterclass presenters (EFT Masters Jaqui Crooks, Ann Ross, Sue Beer, Emma Roberts, Tania Prince, and Gwyneth Moss). I was really dreading listening to myself.  I might be boring or inept or irrelevant or dull.   This might be the time I really get found out.

And now the recording is available again, free, on the Masterclass 2011 website http://www.eftevents.com .  All seven are.   Go there now to listen or to book or both.   The Masterclass is in York on October 22/23 and the early booking price lasts only until the end of August. I am really looking forward to presenting there.

But excuse me now.  I have to start tapping about that audio again.  I was just up to:  “Even though they might find me out …“

About Judy Byrne EFT Founding Master

I draw on my 30 plus years' experience as a therapist to help clients achieve the change they want in their lives. I use EFT, an amazing technique involving tapping on points on the meridians, that is brilliant in therapy and as a self-help tool. And I teach EFT both to people who want to learn it to use for themselves and to those who want to take EFT into their therapy practices. I also have qualifiations in psychotherapy, hypnosis, EMDR and Mindfulness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

